Real Men and Ironing

Alright guys. It’s time we all start getting this one right.

A real man does not leave his home wearing wrinkled clothes.

T-shirt & jeans? Maybe. Dress shirt and slacks? Definitely not sir. Definitely not. A real man cares about his pleats and takes the time to make them shine.

Nothing says, “I’m a sloppy, lazy man who lacks precision and is generally ambivalent about taking care of myself and my life” more than wrinkled clothing. It’s not like it takes an extreme investment of time to flatten out those creases. With a good iron, you can do an entire day’s wardrobe in about 10 minutes… tops!

Clothing may or may not make the man, but wrinkled clothing definitely makes a man… look silly.

If you want to be taken seriously as man, one of the first things you need to do is make a solid first impression. And one of the easiest ways to make a good first impression is by wearing clothes that fit, clothes that match, and clothes that are ironed.

Notice I didn’t say: expensive, trendy, flashy, tailored. No, the words I used were: fit, match, and ironed. Wearing clothing that lives up to the standard of those three criteria is not rocket science and it’s not beyond the reach of any man… rich, poor, fat, skinny, white-collar, blue-collar, young, old, etc. No man who is tall enough to see over the top of a fully extended ironing board is exempt from this rule.

Danny Tanner knows what I’m talking about:

So does Tony Stark:

Come on guys. Stop leaving your house looking like the clothes you’re wearing are the clothes you slept in last night. It’s not cool and trust me, other people notice.

This entry was posted in Random, Real Men by Michael. Bookmark the permalink.

About Michael

Was it Kierkegaard or Dick Van Patten who said, ''If you label me, you negate me.'' I call people amigo, bromigo, broseph, amigo, and brojangles a lot. It's a problem... I know. I also fight gangs for local charities and stuff like that, and I have a strong affinity for the fist bump as a primary means of greeting people. When I'm not doing those things, I'm busy trying to balance my efforts to be a good husband & dad, a man of God, a professional fundraiser, a friend, an amateur writer, an avid consumer of books and music, and defender of all things awesome. Check out my blog at FindingManhood.com

3 thoughts on “Real Men and Ironing

Comment

